Dairy-Free Cheese

Dairy free cheese, is completely plant based and it involves combining protein mass from various plant sources with lactic bacteria which are often added to the ingredients for acidity. Oils, emulsifiers, and thickeners are also often used to produce harder ranges of Dairy free cheeses. The ingredients used in non dairy cheese depending on the brand and type of cheese usually can be made from, solidified vegetable oil such as coconut, soy protein (used in shiny, slick, rubbery varieties), solidified vegetable oil, like coconut, or safflower, thickening agar agar flakes, nutritional yeast, nuts, including almonds, macadamias, and cashews, tapioca flour, natural enzymes, vegetable glycerin, arrowroot, and pea protein, also assorted bacterial cultures. Dairy free cheese is otherwise known as vegan cheese .

PlantBased Newsletter

Register for our regular bulletins of all things PlantBased