White Wine

Not all wines are vegan or even vegetarian friendly this is because of a process called ‘fining’. Fining agents are used almost like a magnet they attract molecules in the wine to keep it clear and to stop it from clouding. Typically the most commonly fining agents in non vegan wines have been were casein (a milk protein), albumin (egg whites), gelatin (animal protein) and isinglass (fish bladder protein). Today wine makers have taken a new direction and are now starting to use animal friendly products like clay based fining agents such as bentonite, and activated charcoal all giving the same result as fining agents. White wine is composed from “white” grapes, which are green or yellow in colour, such as Chardonnay, Sauvignon, and Riesling. White wine is tangy and aromatic often dry in taste.

PlantBased Newsletter

Register for our regular bulletins of all things PlantBased